Paris & Rouen

On Monday morning I left Annecy for Paris.

IMG_0193

The Annecy train station was undergoing a huge renovation when I left in 2011. It may not be a coincidence that city was also bidding for the 2018 Winter Olympic Games at the time.

The Annecy train station was undergoing a huge renovation when I left in 2011. It may not be a coincidence that city was also bidding for the 2018 Winter Olympic Games at the time.

Paris

The apartment that I stayed in was on the sixth floor, no elevator

The apartment that I stayed in was on the sixth floor, no elevator

This mouse was barely moving. Must have been poisoned.

This mouse was barely moving. Must have been poisoned.

Then I walked along the Seine around sunset

IMG_0199

IMG_0201

IMG_0202

IMG_0204

IMG_0205

IMG_0206

IMG_0207

During the day, the most photogenic parts of Paris are overrun by people. Late night, you get a chance to really take in the sights. I walked until nearly 2am.

IMG_0209

IMG_0210

IMG_0211 (1)

Note: Unfortunately I’m missing a night picture. I’ll try to share it later.

Rouen

Late Tuesday morning I went up to the suburbs of Rouen to have lunch with the Poussards, the family of one of my students. You may remember I wrote about their harrowing New York experience during Hurricane Sandy. Then I came into the city in the late afternoon.

IMG_0216

Rouen Train Station

IMG_0214

The Gros Horloge, or Big Clock, is one of the most prominent landmarks in Rouen

IMG_0215

As I made my way back to the Rouen train station to catch the last one to Paris, I decided to stay the night and walk around the city with my camera.

The center of Rouen and its two largest churches seen over the Seine River from the left bank. This is the same Seine that similarly splits Paris in two halves.

The center of Rouen and its two largest churches seen over the Seine River from the left bank. This is the same Seine that similarly splits Paris in two halves.

The hill beyond these apartments provides a great view of the city for those with the time to make it up there

The hill beyond these apartments provides a great view of the city for those with the time to make it up there

IMG_0221

The addition of the Rouen Cathedral’s spire once made it the tallest building in the world, from 1876 until 1880. In 1884 the crown was held by the Washington Monument, and by 1889, the Eiffel Tower.

If I knew what crimes this man committed on that horse, I probably wouldn't post it. So I didn't find out, just so you can see.

If I knew what crimes this man committed on that horse, I probably wouldn’t post it. So I didn’t find out, just so you can see.

IMG_0224

A street in Rouen, Cathedral in the distance.

IMG_0225

This church is named after Joan of Arc, who is supposed to have been killed where the cross stands in front of it (to the right in this picture)

IMG_0220

Another view of the Cathedrale after a light came on below

Paris

At around noon on Wednesday, I came back to Paris. I didn’t take many pictures that day, and by night time not only was it raining but my feet were exhausted.

IMG_0229

I ate lunch at Hank's Vegan Burger. Its name leaves for little explanation

I ate lunch at Hank’s Vegan Burger. Its name leaves for little explanation

Some kids playing soccer near the Centre Pompidou

Some kids playing soccer near the Centre Pompidou

Note: Three or so photos from this day are missing as well.

Nimes

Early yesterday (Thursday) afternoon I traveled from rainy Paris to warm and sunny Nimes, in the south of France, where I’ve never been. A friend from the Paris region is now living here, and today we will visit Marseille. I’ll have photos of Nimes and Marseille as soon as I can.

One thought on “Paris & Rouen

  1. The pictures are beautiful. From: Plainfield View To: elliott.simmons1923@yahoo.com Sent: Friday, May 1, 2015 5:45 AM Subject: [New post] Paris & Rouen #yiv2430527276 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv2430527276 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv2430527276 a.yiv2430527276primaryactionlink:link, #yiv2430527276 a.yiv2430527276primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv2430527276 a.yiv2430527276primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv2430527276 a.yiv2430527276primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv2430527276 WordPress.com | David Rutherford posted: “On Monday morning I left Annecy for Paris, a city I visited every two weekends when I lived in nearby Rouen.ParisThen I walked along the Seine around sunsetDuring the day, the most photogenic parts o” | |

Leave a Reply

